The Complete Works of Saint John of the Cross, vol. 1

Longman, 1864


Volume one includes the The Ascent of Mount Carmel and the The Obscure Night of the Soul. The Ascent of Mount Carmel is divided into three books: “The Nature of the Obscure Night,” “Proximate Means of Union, Faith,” and “The Purgation and Active Night of the Memory and Will.” The Obscure Night of the Soul is divided into two books: “Of the Night of Sense” and “Of the Night of the Spirit.”

In the Verbum edition, this volume is enhanced by amazing functionality. Important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

This volume is also part of the Post-Reformation Catholic Thought and Piety collection.

Key Features

  • Contains two works of John of the Cross
  • Provides insight into sixteenth-century spirituality
  • Presents the wisdom of a modern Doctor of the Church

Product Details

About the Author

John of the Cross (1542–1591) was born Juan de Yepes Alvarez at Fontiveros, Old Castile, Spain. He was a major figure of the Counter-Reformation, as well as a Spanish mystic, Catholic saint, Carmelite friar, and priest. John of the Cross reformed the Carmelite Order and is considered—along with Saint Teresa of Ávila—as a founder of the Discalced Carmelites. He is a Doctor of the Church and venerated as a saint in the Roman Catholic, Anglican, and Lutheran Traditions.


What other people are saying about The Complete Works of Saint John of the Cross, vol. 1.